Curate or Create? Why Not Some of Both?

As a communication studies major and a typical twenty year old, I use social media on a daily basis. I use a wide variety of social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, Pinterest, and LinkedIn. Creating and curating are two different types of how social media users post their content. To create on social media is to post original content, such as images taken with your friends, or tweets that were made up by yourself. To curate on social media means to post content that is not original that others have posted first, such as sharing articles on Facebook, or pinning a DIY project on Pinterest. With this being said, curating and creating are two different ways to go about social media, but I think using a mix of both is the perfect way to balance your personality and professional self on social media.

I love being original, and most of my social media sites show this. I often tweet about how school is going (AKA usually how stressed out I am.) I also post many images of my cat, Screen Shot 2016-11-29 at 10.49.48 AM.pngand what I am doing. I like being creative on social media because I get to write and post and say what I want, and sometimes I find it stressful having to tweet or post about a certain thing, such as when we live-tweeted for my social media class. Although I like to be creative on Twitter, I also curate on Twitter. Retweeting or quoting a tweet, for example, is an Screen Shot 2016-12-01 at 11.31.29 AM.pngexample of curating being used. I think being creative and curative is great to use on a social media site such as Twitter. And as we mentioned in class, mixing the content on Twitter can be a sign that you are a Trust Agent.

 

As I mentioned earlier, the content that I post on Pinterest are curated. When I am on Pinterest, I pin and add to my board images and DIY projects that have already been created. Since I am posted non-original content, I am curating the content. Just because the content I pin on Pinterest are curated, however, does not mean that there are not aspects of Pinterest that are not creative. Although it is not much, I am creative on Pinterest when I create boards which I then pin my curated content into. Even though it may seem like you may be using one or the other on my social media sites, more often than not some type of mix of both is being used.

Creating or curating content on social media are posting where either original content is which is being creative, or when reposting or non-original. If you want to be considered a Trust Agent on social media, having posts that are both creative and curated are essential for building a good network. When looking at my social media sites such as Twitter and Pinterest, I am constantly posting both creative and curated content, although I might not seem to realize it.

Leave a Reply

